2nd WIA Initiative Summit in Marrakech

Beldi Country Club 27th & 28th September 2018

Under the High Patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI

Watch Africa with Confidence
And Trust its Talents!

WHAT IS IN IT FOR ME?

The Women in Africa (WIA) initiative is an international platform for economic development and support for African women leaders and high potential. Its two main goals are to reveal the potential of the new generation of African women leaders at all levels of civil society and state, to network African and international women leaders in the service of an innovative and inclusive Africa.

An annual highlight of the meetings organized on the continent by the Initiative or our Initiative, the Marrakech World Summit in Morocco defies the young African talents and all the decision-makers who are engaged in the transformation of the continent.
In 2017, the first edition of this international event brought together 400 participants, 18% of whom were men from 39 countries, including 22 from Africa.

In 2018, the annual World Summit in Marrakech aims to unite 500 participants from at least 70 countries.

Why did we choose Marrakech? The ocher city, tourist jewel of the cherifian Kingdom, offers all the appropriate infrastructure, a qualified workforce and a sense of unprecedented hospitality.
This inspiring showcase has become the ideal place for us to bring together international and pan-African companies, committed to integrating the gender dimension into their decision-making

Annual Summit Day 1
Thursday 27th September 2018
8:00 am
9:00 am
Accueil des participants
Welcome Delegates
9:00 am
9:45 am
Cérémonie d’ouverture
Opening Ceremony
9:45 am
10:00 am
Plaidoyer pour l’entrepreneuriat
des femmes en afrique
10:00 am
11:00 am
PLÉNIÈRE CONFIANCE
TRUST PLENARY
11:00 am
11:15 am
They Make Africa
11:15 am
12:00 pm
Pause Networking
12:00 pm
1:00 pm
MEET WITH MASTERCLASSES
1:00 pm
2:30 pm
Déjeuner marocain
Moroccan Lunch
2:30 pm
2:45 pm
They Make Africa
2:45 pm
3:00 pm
They Make Africa
3:00 pm
4:00 pm
PLÉNIÈRE CONFIANCE
TRUST PLENARY
4:00 pm
4:15 pm
They Make Africa
4:15 pm
4:45 pm
Thé à la menthe
Mint Tea Break
4:45 pm
6:15 pm
MEET WITH LAB LAB MASTERCLASSES
7:30 pm
8:30 pm
Apéritif WIA REVELATIONS NIGHT
Entrepreneurs Club
8:30 pm
10:30 pm
Dîner WIA REVELATIONS NIGHT
Dinner (Beldi Country Club)
Annual Summit Day 2
Friday 28th September 2018
8:00 am
8:30 am
Accueil des participants
Welcome Delegates
8:30 am
9:30 am
Petit déjeuner Entrepreneurs Club
Breakfast
9:30 am
10:15 am
Men with WIA
10:15 am
10:30 am
They Make Africa
10:30 am
10:45 am
They Make Africa
10:45 am
11:45 am
PLÉNIÈRE ÉDUCATION
EDUCATION PLENARY
11:45 am
12:15 pm
Pause Networking
12:15 pm
1:15 pm
MEET WITH MASTERCLASSES
1:15 pm
2:45 pm
Déjeuner marocain
Moroccan Lunch
2:45 pm
3:00 pm
They Make Africa
3:00 pm
3:15 pm
They Make Africa
3:15 pm
4:15 pm
PLÉNIÈRE ÉDUCATION
EDUCATION PLENARY
4:15 pm
4:30 pm
Keynote
4:30 pm
4:45 pm
Conclusion
Closing
4:45 pm
5:15 pm
Thé à la menthe
Mint Tea Break
5:15 pm
6:15 pm
MEET WITH MASTERCLASSES
7:30 pm
8:30 pm
African Man of the Year Award
(AMOYA) (Fairmont Hôtel)
8:30 pm
10:30 pm
Dîner soirée Industries Culturelles et Créatives
+ Défilé Orient-Occident (Catwalk)
Dinner (Fairmont Hôtel)

Thursday 27th September 2018
Plenary Conference : Trust, a Prerequisite for an inclusive Development?

1. Confidence in Africa and in African Women

Africa is undergoing major economic and social changes thanks, among other things, to the rapid development of ICTs. Leaders of major economic groups, both men and women, explain why they have confidence in the continent, and why they have decided to invest. But also why, they have chosen to trust women in their search for talent to develop Africa, not only by encouraging them, but by focusing on their skills and promoting them to the highest managerial positions within their company.

2. They Believe in Themselves and in Africa

Whether they are administrators in large international or pan African groups, or they run the companies they have created or they come from the diaspora and have decided to invest in Africa, many of those women are already acting as economic levers on the continent. A growing number of them is also making a comeback, after studying or starting a career abroad. They will testify about the family, cultural or professional circumstances that enabled them to succeed and become. Leaders in what they decided to undertake, and why they chose to do it in Africa rather than elsewhere.

Friday 28th September 2018
Plenary Conference: To Win the Battle for Education

1. What is a “Good” Model of Education for African Women and How to Finance It?

The informal sector occupies nearly 80% of the continent’s workforce. Women are overrepresented in it, especially rural women. How to achieve vocational qualification training or even a generalized dual system of education that will allow young people, -especially girls who want to become entrepreneurs and technicians -, to evolve and grow? How to build bridges to enable them to go from vendors to managers? Although it is important that more children attend school, this cannot be at the expense of quality education. The digitization of African schools will certainly lead to a better circulation of knowledge, but it is the enhancement of human capital that will make the difference. How to achieve it? Which sectors to focus on? Should we develop artificial intelligence? These are some of the questions that participants in this roundtable will try to answer by providing innovative solutions on the basis that Goal 4 of the ODD (Ensure inclusive and quality education for all and promote lifelong learning) will be achieved by 2030.

2. The Example of “Schools of Excellence” on the Continent

Being for mathematics, engineering, social sciences or management, there are many visionaries in Africa who have foreseen what a quality graduate education should be. The founders of some of those African “schools of excellence” will testify about their success. Two main reasons for that: they. Favored girls at the entry and developed networks of Alumni to facilitate recruitments afterwards. The graduates encounter no difficulties when trained as engineers because of the needs on the continent. But also about their difficulties due to the mode of financing or the competition of the big western schools: how to reconcile public and private financing? How to fit into the global fabric of schools of excellence by building quality partnerships, especially when it comes to promoting girls higher education in sciences? How to build bridges with young graduates in African universities, especially girls, to help them answer the needs of the market? These are some of the questions that the participants in this round table will try to answer by emphasizing the need to enhance the status of teachers and researchers, too often neglected on the continent, especially when there are women.

Program key features

They Make Africa By WIA & L’OREAL

WIA introduces you to exceptional women from 5 African regions.
Extraordinary women, actors of change, they will each take the floor to present an idea, their journey, their vision for their continent. #inspiration #motivation

BREAKFAST

The working breakfasts will allow members to meet around sectoral issues, to meet stakeholders in a sector, to exchange and develop their networks at the continental and inter- national levels. this is the time for exchange between the great leaders and young women entrepreneurs of the continent

WIA LABS

(collaborative laboratories for thinking)
The goal is to mobilize collective intelligence (men and women) for a better representation of women in the african economy. through a participatory and collaborative methodology, recommendations will be defined on the orientations that women would propose to make progress and will be sent to the press and the major institutions of the countries concerned.

  • e-Commerce Lab
  • social innovation and digitalization Lab
  • smart Cities Lab

These labs are fulfilled in collaboration with Deloitte

WIA REVELATIONS NIGHT

The WIA Revelations night, opening night of the annual summit, will give international recognition to the winning entrepreneurs identified and selected by the Wia Philanthropy foundation. they will go on stage and receive a prize. this evening will also be an opportunity to present the study conducted in collaboration with roland berger and advocacy from the giant brainstorm of dakar, on women’s entrepreneurship in africa and its challenges..

MASTERCLASSES

During Masterclasses, exchanges and sharing of know-how offer African women with high potential concrete methods and skills to help them strengthen their skills: business development, access to networks, business creation, etc.

CULTURAL EVENING

The cultural and creative industries have a role to play in diversifying african economies and highlighting african talent. this evening features artists and innovative projects in the sec- tor of culture and creation (fashion, arts, digital) that enrich the tremendous cultural diversity

MEET WITH

At Meet With sessions, members are invited to meet with. representatives of country and sector delegations to exchange and develop relationships and investment opportunities.
Sign Up Now!

As an individual Member, representing a company

As an individual Member, representing a NGO

    As a corporate delegation Member, representing a company willing to support WIA

        As a network / NGO delegation Member, representing a network willing to support WIA

        WIA INITIATIVE THANKS ITS PARTNERS FOR THEIR SUPPORT

        MAJOR PARTNERS

           

        PARTNERS

           

        SPONSORS

           

        MEDIA PARTNERS

           

        CORPORATE DELEGATION

           

        KNOWLEDGE & TECH PARTNERS

           

        MAJOR PATRONS

           

        PATRONS

           

        BENEFACTORS

2e Sommet Annuel Mondial WIA Initiative à Marrakech

Beldi Country Club les 27 et 28 Septembre 2018

Sous le Haut Patronage de Sa Majesté Le Roi Mohammed VI

Regarder l’Afrique avec Confiance
Croire en ses Talents !

QUE-VAIS JE TROUVER AU SOMMET ANNUEL WIA ?

L’initiative « Women in Africa (WIA)» est une plateforme internationale de développement économique et d’accompagnement des femmes africaines leaders et à haut potentiel. Ses deux principales ambitions : révéler le potentiel de la nouvelle génération de femmes leaders africaines à tous les niveaux de responsabilités de la société́ civile et des États, mettre en réseau des femmes leaders africaines et internationales au service d’une Afrique innovante et inclusive.

Point d’orgue annuel des rencontres organisées sur le continent par notre Initiative, le Sommet Mondial de Marrakech au Maroc défère les jeunes talents africains et de tous les décideurs qui s’engagent dans la transformation du continent
En 2017, la première édition de cet événement international a réuni 400 participants, dont 18% d’hommes, issus de 39 pays, dont 22 d’Afrique.

En 2018, le Sommet annuel mondial de Marrakech souhaite fédérer 500 participants venant d’au moins 70 pays.

Pourquoi avons-nous choisi Marrakech ? La ville ocre, fleuron touristique du royaume chérifien, offre toutes les infrastructures adéquates, une main d’œuvre qualifiée et un sens de l’accueil sans précédent.
Cet écrin inspirant s’est imposé à nous comme le lieu idéal pour réunir des entreprises internationales et panafricaines, soucieuses d’intégrer la dimension de genre dans leurs prises de décision.

Sommet Annuel jour 1
Jeudi 27 septembre 2018
8:00 am
9:00 am
Accueil des participants
Welcome Delegates
9:00 am
9:45 am
Cérémonie d’ouverture
Opening Ceremony
9:45 am
10:00 am
Plaidoyer pour l’entrepreneuriat
des femmes en afrique
10:00 am
11:00 am
PLÉNIÈRE CONFIANCE
TRUST PLENARY
11:00 am
11:15 am
They Make Africa
11:15 am
12:00 pm
Pause Networking
12:00 pm
1:00 pm
MEET WITH MASTERCLASSES
1:00 pm
2:30 pm
Déjeuner marocain
Moroccan Lunch
2:30 pm
2:45 pm
They Make Africa
2:45 pm
3:00 pm
They Make Africa
3:00 pm
4:00 pm
PLÉNIÈRE CONFIANCE
TRUST PLENARY
4:00 pm
4:15 pm
They Make Africa
4:15 pm
4:45 pm
Thé à la menthe
Mint Tea Break
4:45 pm
6:15 pm
MEET WITH LAB LAB MASTERCLASSES
7:30 pm
8:30 pm
Apéritif WIA REVELATIONS NIGHT
Entrepreneurs Club
8:30 pm
10:30 pm
Dîner WIA REVELATIONS NIGHT
Dinner (Beldi Country Club)
Sommet Annuel jour 2
Vendredi 28 septembre 2018
8:00 am
8:30 am
Accueil des participants
Welcome Delegates
8:30 am
9:30 am
Petit déjeuner Entrepreneurs Club
Breakfast
9:30 am
10:15 am
Men with WIA
10:15 am
10:30 am
They Make Africa
10:30 am
10:45 am
They Make Africa
10:45 am
11:45 am
PLÉNIÈRE ÉDUCATION
EDUCATION PLENARY
11:45 am
12:15 pm
Pause Networking
12:15 pm
1:15 pm
MEET WITH MASTERCLASSES
1:15 pm
2:45 pm
Déjeuner marocain
Moroccan Lunch
2:45 pm
3:00 pm
They Make Africa
3:00 pm
3:15 pm
They Make Africa
3:15 pm
4:15 pm
PLÉNIÈRE ÉDUCATION
EDUCATION PLENARY
4:15 pm
4:30 pm
Keynote
4:30 pm
4:45 pm
Conclusion
Closing
4:45 pm
5:15 pm
Thé à la menthe
Mint Tea Break
5:15 pm
6:15 pm
MEET WITH MASTERCLASSES
7:30 pm
8:30 pm
African Man of the Year Award
(AMOYA) (Fairmont Hôtel)
8:30 pm
10:30 pm
Dîner soirée Industries Culturelles et Créatives
+ Défilé Orient-Occident (Catwalk)
Dinner (Fairmont Hôtel)

Jeudi 27 septembre 2018
Conférence Plénière : la confiance, prérequis à un développement inclusif ?

1. Confiance dans l’Afrique et confiance dans les femmes africaines

L’Afrique est en train de vivre d’importantes mutations sur le plan économique et social grâce, notamment, au développement fulgurant des NTIC. Des responsables de grands groupes économiques, hommes comme femmes, disent pourquoi ils ont confiance dans le continent pour venir y investir et ancrer leur activité. Mais aussi pourquoi, eux, ont choisi de faire confiance aux femmes dans leur recherche de talents pour développer l’Afrique non seulement en les encourageant mais en privilégiant leurs compétences pour les plus hauts postes managériaux au sein de leur entreprise.

2. Elles croient en elles et ont confiance en l’Afrique

Qu’elles soient administratrices dans des grands groupes, à la tête d’entreprises qu’elles ont créées ou issues de la diaspora, l’Afrique compte déjà de nombreux talents féminins qui agissent comme autant de leviers économiques. Beaucoup ont d’ailleurs choisi de revenir sur le continent après des études ou un début de carrière à l’étranger. Ces femmes leaders témoignent des circonstances familiales, culturelles ou professionnelles leur ayant permis de réussir dans ce qu’elles ont décidé d’entreprendre et disent pourquoi elles ont choisi de le faire en Afrique plutôt qu’ailleurs.

Vendredi 28 septembre
Conférence Plénière : gagner la bataille de l’Éducation

1. Quel est le « bon » modèle éducatif pour les femmes africaines, et comment le financer ?

L’informel occupe près de 80% de la main d’œuvre du continent. Les femmes y sont surreprésentées, surtout les femmes rurales. Comment parvenir à mettre en place des formations professionnelles qualifiantes, voire un système dual d’éducation généralisé, afin d’aider les jeunes, et particulièrement les filles qui veulent entreprendre et se spécialiser dans des métiers techniques, à évoluer et à grandir ? Comment établir des passerelles pour leur permettre de passer du monde du travail à celui du management ? Même s’il est important qu’un nombre toujours plus grand d’enfants soit scolarisé, cela ne peut pas se faire au détriment d’une éducation de qualité. La digitalisation des écoles africaines entrainera, certes, une meilleure circulation du savoir, mais c’est la valorisation du capital humain qui va faire la différence. Comment y parvenir ? Quelles filières privilégier ? Faut-il développer l’intelligence artificielle ? Autant de questions auxquelles les participants à cette table ronde vont tenter de répondre en apportant des idées novatrices et en prenant comme hypothèse de travail que l’objectif 4 des ODD d’une éducation de base pour tous et de qualité sera atteint d’ici à 2030.

2. L’exemple des écoles d’excellence du continent

L’Afrique compte de nombreux visionnaires sur ce que devrait être une éducation supérieure de qualité que ce soit dans les mathématiques, l’ingénierie, les sciences sociales ou le management. Les fondateurs/trices de quelques-unes de ces écoles d’excellence sur le continent témoignent de leur succès dû au fait qu’ils ont privilégié les filles dans les recrutements et qu’ils ont su développer des réseaux d’Alumni permettant de faciliter les recrutements à la sortie de ces écoles, particulièrement quand elles forment des ingénieurs dont a surtout besoin le continent. Mais aussi de leurs difficultés dues au mode de financement ou à la concurrence des grandes écoles occidentales. Comment parvenir à concilier financement public et financement privé ? Comment s’insérer dans le tissu global des écoles d’excellence au niveau mondial en nouant des partenariats de qualité, particulièrement dans l’enseignement universitaire des sciences pour les filles ? Comment établir des passerelles avec les jeunes diplômés dans les universités africaines, particulièrement les filles, afin de les aider à se connecter avec les besoins du marché ? Autant de questions auxquelles les participants à cette table ronde vont tenter de répondre en mettant l’accent sur la nécessité de valoriser le statut des enseignants et la recherche, trop souvent négligé sur le continent, surtout quand il s’agit de femmes.

Les autres temps forts de notre programme

They Make Africa By WIA & L’OREAL

WIA initiative vous présente des femmes exceptionnelles venues des 5 régions africaines.
Femmes extraordinaires, actrices du changement, elles prendront chacune la parole pour vous présenter une idée, leur parcours, leur vision pour leur continent. #inspiration #motivation

PETIT-DÉJEUNER

Les petits-déjeuners de travail permettront aux membres de se rencontrer autour de questions sectorielles, afin de rencon- trer les parties prenantes d’un secteur, d’échanger et de déve- lopper leurs réseaux au niveau continental et international. C’est notamment le moment de faire échanger les grands leaders et les jeunes femmes entrepreneures du continent.

WIA Labs

(Laboratoires collaboratifs de réflexion)
L’objectif est de mobiliser l’intelligence collective (femmes et hommes) pour une meilleure représentation des femmes au sein de l’économie africaine.
À travers une méthodologie participative et collaborative, des recommandations seront définies sur les orientations que proposeraient les femmes pour faire avancer les choses et seront adressées à la presse et aux grandes institutions des pays concernés.
• Lab Smart Cities
• Industrie 4.0 : l’Afrique est-elle prête pour la transformation numérique ?
Ces labs sont réalisés en collaboration avec le cabinet Deloitte.

SOIRÉE WIA REVELATIONS

La WIA Revelations Night, soirée d’ouverture du Sommet An- nuel, permettra un rayonnement international aux entrepre- neures lauréates identifiées et sélectionnés par la Fondation WIA Philanthropy, en collaboration avec Roland Berger et le soutien de SG et de ses mécènes. Elles monteront sur scène et se verront remettre un Prix. Cette soirée sera également l’occasion de présenter l’étude menée en collaboration avec Roland Berger ainsi que le plaidoyer issu du brainstorm géant réalisé lors Sommet Régional Afrique de l’Ouest de Dakar le 12 avril dernier, sur l’entrepreneuriat féminin en Afrique et ses enjeux.

MASTERCLASSES

Lors des Masterclasses, les échanges et le partage de savoir- faire proposés apportent aux femmes africaines à haut poten- tiel des méthodes et des compétences concrètes pour les aider à renforcer leurs compétences : business développe- ment, accès aux réseaux, créations d’entreprises, etc.

SOIRÉE CULTURELLE

Les industries culturelles et créatives ont un rôle à jouer dans la diversification des économies africaines et la mise en lumière des talents africains.
Cette soirée met en scène des artistes et des projets innovants dans le secteur de la culture et de la création (mode, arts, digital) qui enrichissent la formidable diversité
́culturelle.

MEET WITH

Lors des sessions Meet With, les membres sont invités à ren- contrer les représentants des délégations pays et sectorielles afin d’échanger et de développer des relations et opportunités d’investissement.

Inscrivez-vous !

En tant que membre individuel, représentant une entreprise

En tant que membre individuel, représentant une ONG

    En tant que membre d’une délégation d’entreprise, représentant une entreprise prête à soutenir WIA

    En tant que membre de la délégation réseau / ONG, représentant un réseau prêt à soutenir WIA

    PROGRAMME ADDITIONNEL

    SAMEDI 29 SEPTEMBRE 2018

    La caravane de la Paix dans le désert d’Agafay

    (inscription séparée)
    Une journée de réflexion et d’échange pour répondre sur le thème suivant :
    Pourquoi la recherche de solutions en faveur de la paix est-elle source d’avenir pour le continent ?

    WIA INITIATIVE REMERCIE SES PARTENAIRES POUR LEUR SOUTIEN

    MAJOR PARTNERS

       

    PARTNERS

       

    SPONSORS

       

    MEDIA PARTNERS

       

    CORPORATE DELEGATION

       

    KNOWLEDGE & TECH PARTNERS

       

    MAJOR PATRONS

       

    PATRONS

       

    BENEFACTORS